Law Office of

Osvaldo J. Morales III P.C.

Hablamos Español

Free Consultations Available –

NOTICE: Due to COVID-19, we are currently conducting client consultations through in-person meetings, ZOOM or via teleconference in order to protect our clients and employees. Our office hours are 8am – 5pm.

Legal services and advice may be necessary now more than ever, so please do not hesitate to call us if you have questions or need assistance.

You may request a meeting by phone at 956-391-1358 or by email at [email protected]

Law Office of

Osvaldo J. Morales III P.C.

Hablamos Español

Free Consultations Available –

NOTICE: Due to COVID-19, we are currently conducting client consultations through in-person meetings, ZOOM or via teleconference in order to protect our clients and employees. Our office hours are 8am – 5pm.

Legal services and advice may be necessary now more than ever, so please do not hesitate to call us if you have questions or need assistance.

You may request a meeting by phone at 956-391-1358 or by email at [email protected]

Law Office of

Osvaldo J. Morales III P.C.

Hablamos Español

Free Consultations Available –

NOTICE: Due to COVID-19, we are currently conducting client consultations through in-person meetings, ZOOM or via teleconference in order to protect our clients and employees. Our office hours are 8am – 5pm.

Legal services and advice may be necessary now more than ever, so please do not hesitate to call us if you have questions or need assistance.

You may request a meeting by phone at 956-391-1358 or by email at [email protected]

Attorney Image

Getting The Attention You Deserve,
From Start To Finish

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Dwi
  4.  » What are the penalties for drunk driving in Texas?

Going out for a drink with friends is something everyone does now and then. After a few drinks one may assume that they are safe to drive home, especially if they live close. However, if the police pull you over you could be facing serious consequences.

Individuals who live in Texas report that they drive after drinking too much at a higher rate than the national average. Drunk driving puts everyone on the road in danger, which is why it is always best to call a friend or order an Uber. What penalties will one face for a first offense DWI? Are there more serious penalties?

First offense penalties

When you are facing a driving while intoxicated charge, a first offense may come with the following penalties:

  • Fine: Up to $2,000
  • Jail time: Between three and 180 days
  • License suspension: Up to one year
  • Other fees: $1,000 to $2,000 to retain license for three years following the incident.

Other penalties

Certain acts committed while one is driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol could come with extra consequences. Typically, this means that instead of facing typical first offense DWI charges, you may face additional, or more severe, penalties. This is called an aggravated DWI.

A driver could face aggravated DWI charges if they drive with a child under 15 years old or have a BAC of .15 percent or more. Penalties include a higher fine of up to $10,000 and longer jail time.

DWI charges are serious, even for an individual who has never committed the crime before. It is always wise to make sure you are sober before getting in the car.