As the marijuana decriminalization trend continues to impact cannabis laws in many states, it is wise for enthusiasts to monitor these changes. At least once a year, consider refreshing your knowledge of local laws regarding the possession and use of marijuana.
This proactive step ensures you do not face legal penalties for using or possessing cannabis in prohibited regions. In Texas, marijuana is still illegal, potentially leading to a jail sentence and fines upon a conviction.
Possession of cannabis
Those possessing up to four ounces of marijuana will face misdemeanor charges. The possible penalties include up to a year in jail and fines approaching $4,000.
The possession of four or more ounces of cannabis means facing felony charges. If caught with a substantial amount—50 pounds or more—it will likely lead to 10 or more years in prison and tens of thousands in possible fines.
Those who exchange cannabis for money can face penalties like those above if convicted. For example, the minimum mandatory sentence for selling five pounds or less is two years behind bars and a $10,000 fine.
Even sharing marijuana with your friends for free can lead to misdemeanor charges punishable by time in jail and fines.
Derivatives and cannabis concentrates, like hash, are also prohibited in Texas. Those caught manufacturing or delivering as little as four grams of such substances could receive a 20-year sentence.
If the worst happens and the authorities arrest you for selling, possessing or manufacturing marijuana, explore your legal options. Someone with the most up-to-date information about Texas marijuana laws can help you create an effective defense.