When drivers in Texas are accused of DWI-related crimes, they may not be aware of exactly how serious these charges can be. If you are convicted of a DWI crime in Texas, you face huge repercussions that can last years into the future.
The Texas Department of Transportation takes a look at some of the potential penalties you may face if you are charged with certain DWI-related crimes in the state. For example, for a first time offense, you could face 3 to 180 days in jail, an annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 for up to 3 years to keep your license retained, and a fine of $2,000. You can also lose your license for a year.
Second offenses can get you fines of $4,000, one month to a year in jail, and a charge of $1,000 to $2,000 a year to keep your license. If you lose your license, you may not have it reinstated for up to 2 years. Third offense or higher can result in a $10,000 fine and 2 to 10 years in prison. Additionally, if you get more than 2 DWI convictions in a 5 year period, you will need an ignition interlock device installed.
Regardless of whether or not you have been convicted of DWI offenses before, certain actions can result in more severe penalties. For example, if you commit a DWI infraction with a child in the car, you can get up to 2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine for child endangerment.
If you are currently facing any sort of DWI-related charge, consider seeking out an experienced attorney. As you can see, the potential damage to your future can be steep.